Book Review: The She-Hulk Diaries

IMG_0965

The summer following my graduation from university, I found myself looking for something to read that is the complete and total opposite of a textbook. I am privileged enough to live within walking distance from my local comic store, Paradise Comics. The very nice store manager lent me The She-Hulk Diaries, Marvel Comic’s novelization of one of their most popular super-heroines.  While I am a DC Comics girl at heart, the fun-looking cover and Bridget Jones reference intrigued me.

Before I dive right into the review, I would just like to say that I went into reading this book without knowing anything about She-Hulk at all, other than the fact that she is The Hulk slash Bruce Banner’s cousin who can also turn into a powerful green crime fighter.

I absolutely adored Marta Acosta’s novel. Jennifer aka She-Hulk or Shulky for short is a joy to read about. I loved the diary format, the supporting cast, the few Marvel references I was able to catch, the plot, the red herrings, the romance component, the bad guy…I could go on and on about this book but let me just say that I highly recommend it if you’re looking for some light reading.

Now, I’m not too sure, but I think I read some reviews out there about the confusion between how Jennifer and She-Hulk are portrayed as completely separate beings, in which case whenever Jennifer transforms into Shulky, she is basically “trapped” inside Shulky’s body. I don’t know if that happens in the comics, so I can’t really comment on it aside from the fact that it can be pretty funny at times, which is maybe why they decided to go in that direction.

Sometimes I found the humor to be a bit too much with the punny songs sung by the main love interest or the overuse of abbreviations (OMG) but all in all, it’s a very enjoyable read with plenty of action and romance. Shulky is such a blast, I dare you to not want to hang out with her and Jennifer’s diary entries are so relatable, you can’t help but cheer for her. It definitely made me want to discover more about Jennifer Walters slash She-Hulk, so mission accomplished Marvel! And if you find yourself craving more like me, Marvel has an ongoing comic featuring She-Hulk.

Verdict: The She-Hulk Diaries is perfect for a light, quick read, preferably during summer. Reading about Jennifer’s attempts at balancing her career, love life and crime fighting is best-enjoyed poolside with a bright cocktail or a cold beer. Or you can also read it while you’re recovering from a hangover after a wild night of partying, I’m sure Shulky would approve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

