The Best Cupcakes in Toronto

Image

Two very important things one can learn from this post’s title: I live in Toronto and I am truly, madly and deeply in love with cupcakes. Ever since the rise of the gourmet cupcake shop, I have fully embraced the trend and made it a lifestyle choice. I love watching shows about them on TV. I love making them for special occasions and decorating them accordingly. But most of all, I love eating them.

Ever since my addiction started, I have scoured my city for the best cupcakes. As a true connoisseur, I require a good frosting to cake ratio, the best ingredients used, creative flavors, a moist, mouth-watering cake and luscious, not-too-sweet frosting. Is that too much for a girl to ask? 

I’m happy to report that my search is over. I found the best cupcakes in Toronto at Dlish. From the minute I tried their red velvet, I knew I found The One. It was the perfect color, which is important to me. It’s not called Brownish-Red Velvet or Pink Velvet, am I right? And the frosting was the right amount of sweet where you can still taste the cream cheese. 

Image

After the gateway drug that is Red Velvet, I subsequently fell in love with their other flavors like Chocolate Marshmallow and Chocolate Peanut Butter. Some flavors are available everyday while others are rotated during the week. They also have limited edition flavors that they change every month. 

For St. Patrick’s Day, they had Irish Cream cupcakes!

Image

But my favorite limited edition flavor has got to be S’mores! The base is a buttery graham cracker crust. The cake is moist dark chocolate filled with rich chocolate ganache. The frosting is fluffy marshmallow that’s been toasted. I mean, come on. I didn’t stand a chance. My kingdom for a S’mores cupcake! I’ve even been campaigning for it to be upgraded to their regular menu.

Image

If you live in Toronto or you’re coming to visit, make sure to check out either one of their locations. 

https://www.dlishcupcakes.com/

10 Comments

Filed under Food

10 responses to “The Best Cupcakes in Toronto

  1. Ana

    I’m a self confessed cupcake snob… I agree they make the best cupcakes in the city. In fact, I prefer their red velvet cupcakes to Magnolia Bakery in NYC.

  2. Jules

    I love their cupcakes too! The owner guy is really nice you can tell he is passionate about his business.

  3. Nikki

    these are by far the best cupcakes I have ever had….you must check out the dark chocolate cupcakes with the sprinkles…and you are right…the owner is such a nicer person…

  4. w

    i agree with you! they are by far the best cupcakes in toronto!

  5. Mel

    Dlish is the real deal. Top quality and freshness. My mom who was visiting from Austarlia fell in love with their cupcakes. She still talks about them. Wish they would sell me a franchise!

  6. Definitely best in Toronto, and I’ve tried a lot! Their coconut ones are amazing, and their seasonal pumpkin, and the salted caramel…

  7. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: 86th Academy Awards Recipe Round-up | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  8. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  9. Pingback: 2014 World Cup Semi-Finals in Food Part 2 | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  10. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Bobbette & Belle REVIEW | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

