Macaron Madness: Butter Avenue

IMG_0174

I think it’s pretty safe to say I have a sweet tooth. My cupcake post was very well received so today I wanted to focus on another confectionery craze of mine: the macaron. Ever since I visited Paris, I fell in love with la culture française. I also grew up in Montreal so the francophone culture is part of my identity. Now I live in Toronto, but the French-Canadian side of me refuses to be hidden away. I still root for the Montreal Canadiens despite being best friends with avid Maple Leafs fans. And I still satisfy my craving for a taste of Paris by indulging in macarons.

IMG_0063

My favorite place in the city for these delicate delights has to be Butter Avenue. They opened up the street from my apartment two years ago and I’ve been a happy customer ever since.

IMG_0067

They use only the best ingredients and one can really tell the difference. They also take advantage of the seasons when coming up with flavors. For Halloween, they had a pumpkin one. Although my favorite has to be the blueberry cheesecake and whenever they have it, I can never resist.

IMG_0467

When Macaron Day came around this year, they had some very unusual yet interesting flavors like black sesame, chili and popcorn!

IMG_0066

They also have teas and really good coffee as well as other desserts to choose from. Plus, they have a pop-up shop at Holt Renfrew! Marc Jacobs and Macarons? Yes, please. Make sure to check them out!

http://www.butteravenue.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

