Thor: The Dark World will leave you thirsty for more!

IMG_0993

*SPOILER FREE UNTIL NOTED OTHERWISE*

Last night I went to the opening night of Thor: The Dark World, Marvel’s 2nd film in its Phase Two series. I went in with very low expectations as I really enjoyed the first movie and the trailers so far weren’t doing it for me. I was excited about Christopher Ecclestion aka the Ninth Doctor playing the baddie but I didn’t know anything about the plot and was more stoked for Captain America 2 for obvious reasons. But the sequel to Thor won me over.

Once again, I have to tip my hat off to Marvel for realizing that superhero movies should be fun and funny. Not that the element of danger was missing or that there was a lack of action, far from it. The movie took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions and while some if not most of the twists were predictable, they were still very enjoyable to watch. The cast was brilliant as expected. Obviously, Loki and Darcy stole the show because they’re played by Tom Hiddleston and Kat Dennings respectively. The experience was well worth seeing in theatres and only made me super excited for future Marvel movies. And you’ll understand what I mean when you stick around for the not one but two post-credits scenes.

If you don’t mind being spoiled, continue reading below. If you hate spoilers, then stop now, go watch the movie and come back to read the rest of my review!

And now time for…

 

*SPOILERS* (Always read this in River Song’s voice)

 

 

Alrighty, let’s get down to the nitty gritty. What I liked: That not even ten minutes into the movie and we already have shirtless Thor. The fact that the story took place in both Asgard and Earth. I enjoyed seeing more of Thor’s world, Asgardian technology and weaponry as well as their prison system. Having said that, I was pleased that they also didn’t forget about the mere mortals and they let the humans play a proactive role in the story. In fact, Jane and her team pretty much saved the universe this time around while Thor’s Asgardians took more of a backseat. Though they did have a pretty bad-ass Idris Elba scene. Darcy had some of the best lines. I want her and Loki to meet in Thor 3 and have a battle of wits. I was also pretty relieved that they didn’t go the Sif-Thor-Jane love triangle route. I heard rumors that this was going to be the case but I’m glad that didn’t happen. I love everything that happened with Loki, his snarkiness, his wit, his breakdown over his mother’s death, his sequence of transformations to get a rise out of Thor ending in a hilarious Chris Evans cameo. Even though I knew he couldn’t be dead, he was so believable in his dying scene that it made my heart falter for one teensy little second before realizing, “Oh, of course, they’re not going to kill Loki. Jeez, calm down”. Also the scene where he finally sits on the throne made me so happy and yes, I know he’s a bad guy.

What I didn’t like: While I love Christopher Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor, I felt that he was extremely underused. He’s such a good actor and I felt that the character of Malekith was just so flat and one-dimensional. And the only good thing about the Aether is that it turns out to be one of the gems in the Infinity Gauntlet, the weapon Thanos will wield in Avengers 3, I’m guessing. I also was disappointed in the lack of Sif scenes. While I’m grateful she didn’t become just another love interest, I had expected her to kick more ass in this movie.

Ultimately, the pros outweighed the cons and I give this movie at least a B+, at most an A-. It made me laugh a lot. Even though the villain wasn’t that compelling, it still made me willing to suspend my disbelief enough to get on board the whole Aether-end-of-the-universe train. And once I did, there was no looking back.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

