Throwback Thursday: Pining for Phillip Lim

In honor of the Isabel Marant for H&M collection hitting the stores today, I want to do a quick post on the last big designer collaboration I was this excited for: Phillip Lim 3.1 for Target.

I had been a big fan of Phillip Lim ever since my fashion-savvy friend, Heidi, took me to Holt Renfrew to ogle a 700$ electric yellow Pashli mini bag. I had heard of him before that obviously but it was that bag that made me a groupie. So when I saw that his collection for H&M had a similar looking bag that I could actually afford, I knew I needed to own it. I also wanted the Boom sweater since it reminded me of comic book art and I’m a huge comic book fan, if you haven’t noticed yet.

In Toronto, we had only just recently gotten Target. The nearest one to my apartment was a subway and bus ride away. My friend Melissa and I made our way around noon on Sunday, the day the collection debuted and by the time we got there, there were only a few sad blouses and shirts left. No bags, obviously. We had learned a valuable lesson that day: people are nuts when it came to designer collaborations.

I had resigned myself to the fact that I missed out on this wonderful opportunity. But lo and behold, my boyfriend’s parents live in Kirkwood, Missouri. He had told them about my dilemma and since his mom was going to their local Target anyways, she said she would check their stock. Would you believe that Target still had Boom sweaters in my size and more importantly and impossibly, bags!

When his parents came over to visit for my boyfriend’s birthday, they also bestowed upon me these gifts for which I will be forever grateful:

IMG_0914

Leave a comment

Filed under Fashion

Leave a Reply

