A Not-So-Mundane Monday

I’m currently still in Quebec on a mini-vacation so my Monday is far from mundane. It probably has something to do with my mom’s apple pie and our local bakery’s pains au chocolat.
IMG_1029
IMG_1040

For those of you who aren’t as fortunate to be on holiday today, then here’s a little something to cheer you up. What better way to brighten a cold day than the perfect cup of homemade hot chocolate? It’s super easy to make and much better than the instant powdered kind. I make mine with whatever chocolate I have in hand and just adjust for personal taste. My philosophy is the richer the better, so I cut it down with some cream but my siblings prefer adding more milk.

You start out by simmering milk with some vanilla extract and a cinnamon stick. For every one cup of milk, I use 1/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. You can add powdered sugar if you want it sweeter. If you’re using milk chocolate, you probably won’t need it. Garnish with whipped cream for a decadent dessert.

Hot Chocolate

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

