Throwback Thursday: The Time of the Doctor Review + Best of Matt Smith

hr_doctor_who_-_the_time_of_the_doctor_3
Last week, the Doctor Who Christmas special aired in which we saw the changing of the guard. It was Eleventh Doctor Matt Smith’s last appearance and Twelfth Doctor Peter Capaldi’s first appearance. The episode was entitled “The Time of the Doctor” because basically the Doctor spends roughly 300 years in a town called Christmas on the planet Trenzalore, defending its inhabitants from a vast array of Doctor Who villains.

There were some great moments from this episode, namely Matt Smith’s exit speech and the appearance of Amy Pond but there were also a lot I did not care for. Clara was useless up until the point where she begs the Time Lords to give the Doctor more regenerations, which let’s face it, they probably would’ve done without her asking. I’ve never really warmed up to Clara as a companion so that’s my biased opinion. I enjoyed the appearance of another female character in Mother Superious Tasha Lem, but her scenes were brief and too focused on her implied relationship with the Doctor. Side note: Has everyone been with the Doctor?!

Some people disliked the fact that the crack in the universe and the Silence have been reused for this episode but I for one thought it was a great way to bookend the Matt Smith chapter. I really liked that the Silents were revealed to be confessional priests. Clever, I see what you did there, Moffatt. And the fact that the crack was made by the Time Lords from the newly saved Gallifrey, after the events of “The Day of the Doctor”. The bit about the question of “Doctor Who?” is seriously getting old for me. They’re never gonna tell us the Doctor’s name, let’s just move on.

Quickly now, I will admit that I started crying when Amy appeared because I loved her adventures with the Doctor and that’s another reason why I still can’t accept Clara. Maybe I’ll like her more as Capaldi’s companion. Matt Smith was brilliant as usual. He completely won me over after the trauma that was Tennant’s departure and I’m sad to see him go. But as it’s the new year, it’s time for the new Doctor. Initial thoughts: I was shocked at the abrupt appearance of Capaldi’s face and that made me laugh. I’m super excited to see how this turns out. Unfortunately, we still have a long wait to go before his era starts so here are my top 5 Matt Smith episodes/moments in no particular order:

1. End of “The Eleventh Hour” when he convinces the Atraxi and the audience that he is a force to be reckoned with.
Eleventh_Hour_(Doctor_Who)
2. His speech to his enemies in “The Pandorica Opens”.
800px-ThePandoricaOpens
3. His adventures with Craig.
Fotor1229173245
4. When the Doctor is bored out of his mind in “The Power of Three” and when he tells Amy, “You were the first face this face saw”.
Dr Who XI 3 Ep4
5. Basically every episode where the Eleventh Doctor and River Song banter with each other. I know some people don’t like her but haters gonna hate.
Fotor1229180139
Special mention to his performance in “The Day of the Doctor” of course!
Farewell, Raggedy Man, you shall be missed.
Doctor-Who-The-Time-of-the-Doctor-Bowtie

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

