NFL Divisional Championship Picks, Westeros Style

Happy Hump Day everyone! Wednesday means it’s all downhill from here to the weekend and I wanna talk about what I’m most excited for, the NFL Divisional Championships on Sunday. Ever since I started getting into fantasy football, I’ve become a huge football fan. I love rooting for my team, the Seattle Seahawks, and I’m thrilled that they’re doing amazingly well this season. Honestly, the match-ups for this weekend are crazy. I don’t think anyone could’ve thought of better ones. Fans are seriously spoiled with what are basically two Super Bowls.

Here are the match-ups and since I’m also a huge Game of Thrones fan, I thought why not use these amazing NFL sigils by DJroomba:

Denver Broncos versus New England Patriots:
jbnMk3UgatrBEV
jZ7RmzemBdWxh
George R.R. Martin himself has said that the Patriots are the Lannisters of the NFL and I could not agree more. He also said the Starks are the New York Giants so by that logic, would Eli’s brother Peyton also be a Stark? I personally think the Broncos are the Baratheons. They have who they think is the rightful king Stannis Baratheon in the form of quarterback Peyton Manning, who will try and take out the evil King Joffrey aka Tom Brady. It’s going to be a great showdown between these two as they square off for the 15th time. Brady may have a 10-4 record against him but with Gronk out, I think Peyton’s got this.
Fotor0114155710
My pick: Denver Broncos, cause why the hell would I ever pick the Lannisters?!

Seattle Seahawks versus San Francisco 49ers:
jbwY5Wi7jvar2k
jbxy0PyOv7jlyz
Since I’m rooting for the Seahawks, then that obviously makes them the Targaryens. Oh, you need more reasons? Fine. While it’s true that they’ve never won a Super Bowl and therefore don’t have the history of reigning over the NFL teams like the Targaryens did over Westeros, that doesn’t mean they don’t have a right to the throne. The Seahawks have slowly but surely been closing in over the years, much like Daenerys’ long journey to reclaim what is hers. And just like the Khaleesi’s three dragons, Khal Pete Carroll has three weapons he’ll unleash on the 49ers this Sunday: Russell Wilson, the Seattle Defense and Marshawn Lynch.
Fotor0114160326
And which House do the 49ers belong to? Probably the Greyjoys, since they’re my least favorite House. Seriously, Colin Kaepernick is just as annoying as Theon Greyjoy. They’re both super cocky and think they deserve glory and admiration. For those who watch the show, you’ll know that Theon has been brought down a couple notches (to put it lightly) and I think this Sunday, Colin will get his.
Fotor0114161047
My pick: Seattle Seahawks all the way! They shall take what is theirs with Lynch and blood.

1 Comment

Filed under Fandom

One response to “NFL Divisional Championship Picks, Westeros Style

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

