My Guide to Winterlicious 2014

Reservations are now being accepted for this year’s Winterlicious event. Oh, you haven’t heard of it? Toronto’s food scene hosts Winterlicious and Summerlicious every year so that all of us foodies can enjoy some of the city’s best restaurants in the form of prix fixe menus. This year it runs from January 31 to February 13. There are over 200 of Toronto’s top restaurants participating so I did the research for you and I present you with my top recommendations. You’re welcome.
1465143_687646937935006_1179466141_n (Winterlicious 2014)
Ever since my good friend Chris introduced me to Bannock, I’ve been a fan of the Oliver & Bonacini restaurants. Well, actually I’ve only tried Bannock but I’ve been dying to try their other places that I’ve heard only good things about. Winterlicious is the perfect opportunity since eight of their restaurants are participating. Personally I can vouch for Bannock. Friends also recommend Luma, Canteen and Canoe.
Bannock004 (oliverbonacini.com)
After watching Anthony Bourdain’s The Mind of a Chef featuring David Chang, I can’t not include Momofuku Daishō & Momofuku Noodle Bar on this list. It was so exciting when he announced Toronto as the next city in which he expands his empire. There was so much hype surrounding his restaurants that this is the perfect opportunity to try one or both Winterlicious offerings. Plus just look at the building they’re located in.
momofuku-outside (torontolife.com)
I also want to include a restaurant that’s a few blocks away from my apartment, Trapper’s. It highlights Canadian cuisine made with fresh Canadian ingredients. We had dinner there last summer for my boyfriend’s parents’ 40th anniversary. We had their Summerlicious menu which was amazing so I think their Winterlicious one should deliver equally.
IMG_0578
Hopefully you get to take advantage of Winterlicious to brighten up this cold winter we’ve been having, I know I will. Happy eating!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “My Guide to Winterlicious 2014

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

