Tabletop Thursday: “Lords of Waterdeep” Review

Time for another Tabletop Thursday and on this installment, I talk about a game we just played recently: Lords of Waterdeep! To some this game might be old news, but we only just discovered it so I want to share my thoughts.
81tVInsxubL._AA1500_
First off, it’s a German-style board game, surprise, surprise. It’s the first worker-placement game I’ve ever played and I have to say that I’m addicted. I really want to try other worker-placement games. I almost have zero patience for “Ameri-trash” games that have player elimination which is why almost all the games I review are Euro-style. Second, it’s related to Dungeons and Dragons! This is primarily the reason why I was so excited to play it. I was introduced to D&D by my wonderful friend Chris who is now living in London, England so of course our quest has been put on hold for now. In the meantime, we will be playing Lords of Waterdeep.

Basically, you are a Lord in the city of Waterdeep. You’re assigned one at the beginning of the game and that lord gives you specific bonuses. To win the game you must have the most points, shocker. To get points, you must complete quests. Quests require resources such as agents and gold that you will try and accumulate all while trying to prevent your opponents from completing theirs by blocking those resources or by playing Intrigue cards (single-use cards that give you special abilities or Mandatory Quests, that your opponent must complete before they can complete any other quest). I’m really bad at explaining games so here’s Wil Wheaton:

We bought this game for our dear friend Greg on his birthday and I’m so glad we did because he brought it over on Super Bowl Sunday and we played before the big game (GO HAWKS!). I got the Silverstars as a faction (same as Felicia Day) so I was super happy about that. The game went smoothly enough or so I thought. I was leading by a lot of points which made me pretty smug and confident but then I also wasn’t paying attention the number of quests my opponents were completing which turned out to be very bad. Because of their Lord’s bonuses, they overtook me during the final scoring! So quests that are worth only 8 or 11 and that are easier to complete than my 20-point quest become very valuable at the end. Lesson learned.
915uaNomJsL._AA1500_
Another thing we also weren’t doing which made resource accumulation slower was having enough buildings. I didn’t build a single one and the two or three that were built did not help us at all. Next time, we definitely need to build more.

All in all, I really liked the game until I found out that I came in last place. No, seriously, it’s very enjoyable. It almost satisfies my D&D craving and I can’t wait to play it again.

2 Comments

Filed under Fandom

2 responses to “Tabletop Thursday: “Lords of Waterdeep” Review

  1. I do believe all the ideas you have offered in your post. They are very convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very short for novices. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post:
    HADI http://www.net-ict.be/

  2. Pingback: Tabletop Thursday: “Kill Shakespeare” Kickstarter | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

