Tabletop Thursday: “Survive: Escape from Atlantis!” Review

Happy Thursday everyone! Last week, we decided to add a new board game to our collection, even though we hadn’t played it beforehand. My boyfriend saw a review on YouTube (no, not on Tabletop, strangely) and loved the concept so he insisted on purchasing “Survive: Escape from Atlantis!” over my suggestion, “Tsuro of the Seas”. He won this time but rest assured that my pick will be the next purchase.
IMG_1714
“Survive: Escape from Atlantis!” has been around since 1982 so obviously there has to be a reason why this game has lasted this long. We bought the 30th anniversary edition which has pieces that are different from the original version I believe. Regardless, the artwork of the board and the pieces are very well done.
IMG_1716
The objective of the game is to score the most points and you do that by saving your people from the sinking island of Atlantis. Each one of your meeples has a number under them that corresponds to the number of points you get once you successfully get them from the island to one of the four beaches at the edges of the board. Not only is Atlantis sinking (tiles that make up the island are taken away at every turn), the ocean is populated by sea serpents, sharks and whales that make your life more difficult.
IMG_1720
It’s a good premise and I do enjoy playing it but not as much as my other board games. The reasons? Well, first of all, I have a decent memory for most things but for some reason, the minute after I place my guys on the island, trying to come up with some strategy to save the ones with the highest numbers first, I immediately forget where they are. Second, this game is very cutthroat. Every turn, you roll a die to see which sea animal you get to move, either away from your guys or, and this is where this game makes me so frustrated, towards your opponents. You deliberately go after everyone and normally I love that but in this case, I have yet to win so it really pisses me off.
IMG_1695
With that being said, when you do end up saving some of your peeps, it’s such a great feeling. Maybe I’m being too hard on this game. It’s not its fault that I don’t have a good memory when it comes to meeple placement or that I lose my temper when a shark eats one of my guys or a whale destroys my boat. I’ll definitely still play it but it’s pretty safe to say it won’t become one of my go-to games. If unlike me, you have a knack for remembering numbers and placement or you’re ok with other people viciously attacking your kin for their own personal gain, then this is the game for you. Happy Gaming!

1 Comment

Filed under Fandom

One response to “Tabletop Thursday: “Survive: Escape from Atlantis!” Review

  1. Pingback: Tabletop Thursday: “Forbidden Island” Review | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

