Tasty Tuesday: Culinary Adventures in the Philippines Part 1

A huge part of my 5-week vacation in the Philippines was definitely indulging in some amazing food. For those of you unfamiliar with Filipino cuisine, it’s basically a mix of Spanish, American and Asian cooking that has evolved over the years to be something uniquely our own. Most important thing to know is the fact that we consume a ton of rice, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Luckily for me, my stepmom is a wonderful cook and she made all of my favorite Filipino dishes while I was there. During my first week there, she made this heart-shaped egg muffin:
IMG_2036
Aside from all the home-cooked meals, my family also took me out a lot and introduced me to great restaurants that had some of the best food I’ve ever eaten. This is part one of the top must-try dishes in case you ever visit the Philippines. And even if you’re not going anytime soon, think of this post as inspiration for your next meal.

If you want something healthy: Pho from Bawai’s Vietnamese Kitchen
IMG_2078
The restaurant is just plain gorgeous and I’ve avoided pho for the longest time but this place made me a convert.

If you need to cool off: Caramel Beer from Rue Bourbon
IMG_2308
I’m not the biggest beer fan but when it tastes like caramel…yes, please! This is the perfect drink for a hot summer’s night which is pretty much every night in Manila.

If you’re feeling adventurous: Squid Ink Pasta from Chelsea Market & Cafe
IMG_2317
I have always wanted to try squid ink pasta and I could not have picked a better restaurant for my first time. It’s just such a dramatic dish when you first see it, then it hits all the right notes when you taste it.

If you’re craving something sweet: Lemon Squares from Purple Oven
Fotor0426130758
These squares are heaven. Seriously, there are no words that can do justice to how delicious they taste. I won’t even try. You’ll just have to fly across the world and see for yourself.

Well, that’s enough torture for now. I’ll post part two next week. Meanwhile, may I suggest either hunting down these dishes wherever you live or starting to save up for a trip to the Philippines? Happy Tuesday!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Travel

One response to “Tasty Tuesday: Culinary Adventures in the Philippines Part 1

  1. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Culinary Adventures in the Philippines Part 2 | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

