Adventures in Comic Book Hunting: Manila, Philippines

Just because I was on vacation didn’t mean I would neglect my nerdy obsessions. I actually got to watch Divergent and Captain America: The Winter Soldier a week earlier than my friends back in North America. And because movie tickets are so cheap, I may have watched the latter more than once. While I was looking forward to watching lots of movies, I didn’t think I’d find one of the coolest comic book shops I’ve ever seen.

Let me set the scene: my sister and her boyfriend, knowing how much of a comic book aficionado my boyfriend and I are, told me that they’d take me to the Fully Booked, which is like Barnes & Noble or Chapters Indigo, at Bonifacio Global City, an outdoor mall of sorts. I didn’t need any excuse to visit a bookstore. I practically lived in them when I was still in the Philippines. My dad would always indulge my book obsession. But I had never seen a bookstore as awesome as this one. First of all, it’s huge! It has four floors with a Starbucks, plenty of chairs, a big kids section and of course the comic book store. When you walk in, you’ll be greeted with this sight:
IMG_2080
After seeing that floor to ceiling mural made with books, I was already sufficiently impressed but when I got to the fourth floor, my jaw dropped. I was seriously not expecting the following:
IMG_2081
When they said there would be comics here, I thought a few shelves that had some graphic novels but this setup is seriously amazing. There are so many back issues, it would take hours to dig through all of them.
IMG_2082
Apparently the comic book shop is called Comic Odyssey. This particular branch is a comic shop within a bookstore, which I find so cool. They have other locations in other malls I think, which I definitely have to explore when I return.
IMG_2083
After discovering this hidden jem, I told my boyfriend who immediately turned green with envy since his favorite thing is to hunt for issues he’s missing. But awesome girlfriend that I am, I told him to send me a list and I’d try to find them. The staff was super helpful. During my first hunt, I bought two wrong issues and they exchanged them with ones I needed, no problem. Out of everything on the list, funnily enough, I was able to find all of the “Sins of Youth” issues for a great price!
IMG_2578
All in all, my comic book store experience at Comic Odyssey in Fully Booked, BGC, was awesome. I fully recommend paying it a visit, especially this upcoming Free Comic Book Day, which they invited me to. Unfortunately, I’m back in Toronto, but I’ll still be celebrating by going to my LCS, Paradise Comics. I hope everyone celebrates as well. Happy Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom, Travel

Leave a Reply

