Top 5 Anticipated 2014-2015 TV Shows

Note that this is in no particular order of my level of excitement for each show. But if I’m being honest, I’m most excited about a certain female-led period piece. UPDATE: As of June 30th 2014, FOX has cancelled Hieroglyph.

1. The Flash

10269611_397558520382186_737196658403346717_n
Network: The CW
Release Date: Fall 2014
Starring: Grant Gustin as Barry Allen/The Flash, Jesse L. Martin as Detective West, Candice Patton as Iris West, Rick Cosnett as Professor Zoom, Danielle Panabaker as Killer Frost, Carlos Valdes as Vibe
What we know so far: After the success of Arrow, thanks in part to my friends and I who gather weekly to watch it religiously, the same guys behind it are making a spin-off show about the scarlet speedster from DC Comics. If, like me, you’ve been watching Arrow, you’ll have already seen the episodes featuring Barry Allen who will become The Flash as well as the characters who will eventually become Killer Frost and Vibe.
What I’d like to see: I’m already digging what I’m hearing so far. Obviously, I’d love for there to be crossovers between the Arrow characters and the Flash ones. I’d also like Blue Beetle to make an appearance, either Ted Kord or Jaime Reyes. I’m excited to see which villains from Flash’s rogues gallery they’re going to pick (because he has some fun ones) and how they’re going to execute them for live action.
Trailer: There is no full-length trailer yet but the end of tonight’s season finale of Arrow will most likely provide us with a teaser at the very least.<em>

2. Gotham

Gotham-banner
Network: Fox
Release Date: Fall 2014
Starring: Ben McKenzie as James Gordon, Sean Pertwee as Alfred Pennyworth, Donal Logue as Harvey Bullock, Robin Lord Taylor as Oswald Cobblepot, Jada Pinkett Smith as Fish Mooney, David Mazouz as Bruce Wayne, Camren Bicondova as Selina Kyle, Cory Michael Smith as Edward Nygma, Victoria Cartagena as Renee Montoya, Clare Foley as Ivy Pepper, Andrew Stewart Jones as Crispus Allen
What we know so far: As you can tell by the title, this show is going to deal with Gotham City pre-Batman. It’s a very intriguing concept because by looking at the long list of names above, you’ll probably recognize characters that would eventually become The Penguin, Batman, Catwoman, The Riddler, The Question, Poison Ivy and The Spectre. But don’t get ahead of yourselves, this show is about the journey of these characters to becoming the ones we’re familiar with. The focus will be on Jim Gordon and the Gotham City Police Department. The creator behind this is none other than Bruno Heller who did two shows I loved, Rome and The Mentalist, so despite some casting reservations, I’m on board.
What I’d like to see: Obviously we’re not going to get a lot of costumed action in this show since this takes place before all that, so I’m just going to hope for a really good detective show that just happens to be based in Gotham City. They had a comic book series called “Gotham Central” that featured the police department solving cases, which is where the premise of the show originally came from, I believe. I don’t really have to add onto the list of characters I’d like to see since it’s pretty stacked right now. I’m just going to echo my boyfriend’s concern which is how long can you keep the audience’s interest in a show that’s based on the popularity of Batman without actually having Batman in it? Your move, Fox.
Trailer: I’m worried that this trailer is putting emphasis on characters that won’t actually get a lot of screen time, instead of focusing on the detectives

3. Constantine

constantine-serie-tv-nbc
Network: NBC
Release Date: Fall 2014
Starring: Matt Ryan as John Constantine, Lucy Griffiths as Liv Aberdine, Harold Perrineau as Manny, Charles Halford as Chas
What we know so far: The show is based on the comic book series “Hellblazer” featuring John Constantine, a detective that deals with the supernatural. They made a movie which apparently some liked but was nothing like the comic books. This show however will be closer to the comics and it’s already pretty evident by the look of the main character. Seriously, it’s like he jumped out of the pages. If you like horror and suspense, David Goyer and a cynical, snarky anti-hero, then you’ll probably enjoy this show. I love the cast by the way, which includes True Blood‘s Griffiths, Sons of Anarchy‘s Perrineau and True Detective‘s Halford.
What I’d like to see: I’m not too familiar with “Hellblazer” and my only knowledge of Constantine is from the comic book series “Justice League Dark”. I believe he has his own title in DC’s New 52 right now. I generally enjoy the ruthless but loveable rogue character and the trailer is pretty sweet so I’m looking forward to it. My ultimate wish is for Zatanna to guest star. But I’d also like to see some of the other JL Dark/Vertigo characters such as Madame Xanadu, Deadman, Phantom Stranger, Swamp Thing or Etrigan the Demon.
Trailer: I’m not usually a big fan of scary things but I am very excited after seeing this trailer

4. Agent Carter

agentcarter
Network: ABC
Release Date: Unknown but most likely end of 2014 or early 2015?
Starring: Hayley Atwell as Peggy Carter
What we know so far: Not a whole lot to be honest. Marvel/ABC has released very little information concerning this show. We know it’s written by the same guys behind Captain America: The First Avenger, from which the titular character first appeared. It’s said to be a bridging show for Agents of SHIELD that’s going to be split into two parts next season. So it’ll air after the Season 2 mid-finale and end before SHIELD picks up again. We do know that it’s going to be a period piece, set in 1946, and that Peggy has to deal not only with losing Steve Rogers but her place in the aftermath of the war. She’ll go on secret missions for Howard Stark so we might see Dominic Cooper but no other cast members have been announced.
What I’d like to see: I’d want Howard Stark as a recurring character. I’d also like to see some of the Howling Commandos make cameos, if not be part of the core cast. It would be interesting to see the origins of S.H.I.E.L.D. since we know Peggy was one of the founding members. Maybe there can also be mentions of Bucky or the Winter Soldier in the series?
Trailer: No such luck yet but if Marvel wants to catch up with all the shows based on DC properties, they better release one soon. Meanwhile enjoy the next best thing, a clip from the Agent Carter one-shot in the Iron Man 3 DVD/Blu-Ray that no one bought.

5. Hieroglyph

hieroglyph
Network: Fox
Release Date: Spring 2015
Starring: Max Brown as Ambrose, Reece Ritchie as Pharaoh Shai Kanakht, Condola Rashad as Nefertari Kanakht, John Rhys-Davies as Vocifer, Caroline Ford as Peshet, Antony Bunsee as Rawser, Kelsey Chow as Lotus Tenry
What we know so far: This series comes from Pacific Rim writer, Travis Beacham. They’ve already ordered 13 episodes in good faith but it’s still a long while away from release. It’s a historical fantasy drama set in Ancient Egypt. Oh, you need more information than that to get excited? I forget that not everyone is obsessed with Egyptology like I am. I’ve heard it described as Game of Thrones meets The Mummy. It stars people I’m not really familiar with, except for everyone’s favorite dwarf Gimli/voice of Treebeard. You can read the really long description on Fox’s official website if you’re really curious, but basically we follow Ambrose, a master thief that’s charged by the Pharaoh with tracking down a powerful scroll, all while dealing with the Pharaoh’s half-sister, his magician/priestess past love, his old mentor and other characters.
What I’d like to see: As a huge Ancient Egypt aficionado, I’m looking forward to the mythology, the mysticism, the magic, the mummies (please let there be some), basically everything from that time period. Oh Isis, let this show be good.
Trailer: It’s weird how this already has a trailer yet Agent Carter still doesn’t

Hopefully this got you excited as well for the upcoming 2014-2015 TV season. Happy Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

