Happy Tea-sday: DAVIDsTEA Summer Collection 2014

Usually Victoria’s Day Weekend marks the beginning of the summer, so I decided to review the new David’s Tea Summer Collection. These teas were made specifically to be iced and if you buy the boxed set of all 5 teas, they come with agave sticks to give them the perfect amount of sweetness.
Screen shot 2014-05-16 at 2.59.34 PM

Mango Fruit Punch (Herbal):
Screen shot 2014-05-16 at 3.09.31 PM
Definitely my fave of the bunch since I’m still craving mangoes from my Philippine vacation. It’s going to be my go-to iced tea of the summer. The mango and pineapple work so well together. I like it with a lot of agave and tons of ice.

Sangria (Herbal):
Screen shot 2014-05-16 at 3.12.38 PM
If you like a well-balanced tea that’s not too sweet, then this is it. I have a sweet tooth so I didn’t like it at first sip, but the more I drank, the better it tasted (much like actual alcohol). It’s tangy and tart just like the real deal. They recommend actually adding some red wine to it which I’ll for sure try this summer.

Watermelon Mint (Herbal):
Screen shot 2014-05-16 at 3.18.03 PM
If you’re not into overly fruity teas, this is the one that’s closest to flavored water. You’ll barely taste the watermelon and then just have an aftertaste of mint. It’s simple and refreshing.

Just Peachy (Herbal):
Screen shot 2014-05-18 at 1.06.20 AM
I don’t particularly like peaches but I didn’t mind them in this tea. It tasted like a Fuzzy Peach candy drink when you put agave in it. If you don’t like peaches at all, then definitely steer clear since even though the tea contains apple and sweet blackberry leaves, I just tasted peach.

Shooting Starfruit (White):
Screen shot 2014-05-18 at 1.05.40 AM
The only white tea in the bunch and my least favorite of all. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted star fruit or jackfruit and maybe I just need to get used to it, but there’s a definite aftertaste that I wasn’t digging. The tea tastes fine and the flavor was intriguing for the first few sips and I would’ve liked it if the taste didn’t become slightly bitter afterwards. It might be an acquired taste. And by all means try it out if you love either of those fruits, but it’s not my cup of tea (pun always intended).

Hope everyone had a good long weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

