Summer Weddings & The Fashion They Inspire

On Saturday, May 24th, I attended my very first wedding as a grown-up. I had only been to weddings as a flower girl previously so I was pretty excited when my boyfriend’s best friend made him a groomsman and invited me along as well. The wedding was amazing. The ceremony was at a gorgeous church and the couple rented out a bus to take the wedding party around the city for photos and since I was part of the WAGs club of the groomsmen, I got to tag along too. The reception was held at a prestigious country club in a fancy ballroom with food that rivals some of the best restaurants in Toronto and live music. Needless to say it was an exceptional first-time experience at a wedding. It also got me to thinking about what to wear. Here are some options if you plan on attending any weddings this summer, or they’re just great dresses for any special occasion:

Don’t be afraid to wear black to a wedding. Especially if it’s a more formal, evening affair. I paired this LBD from Zara with a statement necklace and red heels to the wedding and got a lot of compliments.
Fotor0525130627

I saw someone with a pretty floral dress and instantly knew it would be a great option for day weddings and summer nights. I love this one from ASOS.
Fotor0525130042

Playing with bright colors and patterns is another option. As long as you steer clear from white, you have the entire rainbow to choose from. This vivid cubanelle dress would definitely turn heads.
Fotor0525124526

As soon as I saw this dress from the Cupcakes and Cashmere for Club Monaco collection, I knew it would be a perfect go-to outfit for special events like weddings.
Fotor0525124237

Happy Monday and for those of you in the US like I am, Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

One response to “Summer Weddings & The Fashion They Inspire

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

