2014 World Cup Semi-Finals in Food Part 1

We’re down to the final four in the 2014 World Cup and it got me to thinking about the remaining nations’ cuisine. They’re pretty different from one another and I don’t think anyone can declare which one is the best. But it’s still fun to find out what their national dishes are and see if you can even make them for the game. Hey, anything to help out your team, right? Let’s look at the two teams that are going to battle it out today.

Brazil vs Germany, July 8th, 4 pm EST

Brazil
1000px-Flag_of_Brazil.svg
The host nation boasts a vast array of dishes, which is to be expected given its size. Each region has its own traditions and influences. Whether you like meat, seafood, salty, sweet…there’s something for everyone when it comes to Brazilian cuisine, it seems. SORTED food did a feature on Brazilian food. I myself have never had it but now that I’ve read up on it, I will actively try to find some spots in Toronto to sample the food. Here are the top two dishes I’m dying to try:
Churrasco
800px-Churrasco_carioca
As a fan of BBQ, this is at the top of my list. I’m thinking Copacabana would be the place to go.

Vatapá
800px-Vatapá
Everything about this dish sounds amazing, from the shrimp to the coconut milk to the peanuts, sign me up! Make it at home with this recipe.

Germany
german-640
German cuisine can be easily found in North America nowadays. You can get bratwurst in the supermarket and German beer on tap or at liquor stores. I’m not going to go on and on about their already popular food and just give you my top two:
Bratwurst
German_Bratwürste
Why mess with a classic? One of my favorite things to eat ever. I’m kicking myself that I still haven’t been to WVRST but I will have to go before summer ends.

Schnitzel
Wiener_Schnitzel_at_Gasthaus_Joainig_(lightened)
Is it wrong that both my choices consist of meat? Hey, what can I say, I’m a carnivore and the Germans do meat right. I have never been but have heard great things about Schnitzel Queen.

This just got me super excited about today’s match. Part 2 will be up tomorrow featuring the other two teams of the second semi-final match. Happy Tuesday!

1 Comment

Filed under Fandom, Food

One response to “2014 World Cup Semi-Finals in Food Part 1

  1. Pingback: 2014 World Cup Semi-Finals in Food Part 2 | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

