Tribute to True Blood

best-tv-drama-true-blood-i
For the past month, my friends and I have gathered for True Blood Tuesdays to watch each week’s episode, originally aired on Sunday. Last night was no exception and it made me want to write a post expressing my love for a show that I’ll definitely miss when it comes to an end six episodes from now. So far this season has been ok…it seemed like they were just taking a page out of George R.R. Martin’s book and killing off characters left and right, but one major character death per episode was a bit too much even for Game of Thrones standards. This week’s episode however had a somewhat happy ending, which led us to reminisce on the show’s high points. Some are NSFW because this is True Blood we’re talking about, also some spoilers. Here are the gems that I’m truly going to long for once the series is over:

1. Pam’s lines
pam-1024
Every time Pam opens her mouth, I brace myself to see what zinger the writers came up with for her to say next. She has become one of my favorite characters on the show and on TV in general. I used to think that the next line she’s gonna say could not possibly top the previous one, but it always does. Some of the best:
-“Blah, blah … vampire emergency. Blah.”
-“Did I miss something? Are we girls now? Did we join a book club and read some queer chick lit memoirs and are bound together by estrogen or sisterhood or some other feminist drivel?”
-“I don’t know what it is about me that makes people think I want to hear their problems. Maybe I smile too much. Maybe I wear too much pink. But please remember I can rip your throat out if I need to. And also know that I am not a hooker. That was a long, long time ago.”
-“Just because we drank a bitch together does not make us Oprah and Gayle.”
And the line we all died over from this week’s episode -> “I’m sorry …. did we fuck and I blocked it out”
If for some absurd reason, you don’t love Pam, then maybe her rant about Sookie and how everyone just seems to fall for her will at least make you cheer:

2. The Eye Candy
True-Blood-Season-3-Cast-Photo1
Call me shallow, fine. But this show has featured some of the hottest actors and actresses ever. And of course, I’ll miss the sex scenes, outrageous and hilarious as they were, but sometimes I’m just content to admire the pretty girls and hot guys featured throughout the show’s 7 seasons.

3. The Gore
Fotor0716104326
Now, now, before anyone gets mad, I’m not saying one show is better than the other. I don’t have anything against Vampire Diaries. You can even like them both. I just prefer my vampire show to be a little grittier. While some of True Blood‘s plot points can be classified as grade A ridiculous, I for one am glad that they actually feature blood, gore and guts, at times to the extreme. Thank you HBO for letting us watch all the blood-sucking, heart-ripping, gut-wrenching, head-separating scenes in their uncensored glory. There’s no other vampire/monster show that comes to mind that can equal how True Blood really gets down and dirty.

4. Eric Northman
Fotor0716111024
You can keep Bill, I’ll take Eric any day. I don’t know what Sookie’s problem is/was. How can anyone not fall for Eric? If his looks don’t get you, which Ginger described in this week’s episode as “pure fucking sex on a throne”, then his bad-boy-with-a-heart-of-gold act certainly will. For someone who’s accused of having no feelings, he’s fiercely loyal and protective. He has suffered so many losses throughout his existence yet soldiers on and still maintains a wonderful sense of humor. I love how he interacts with everyone. From long-haired Eric to amnesiac Eric to naked on a mountaintop Eric to this week’s 80s Eric, I will miss him most of all. Can we just have a spin-off prequel where it’s just Eric’s adventures with Godric, Nora and Pam? Kaythanksbye.

5. Just the general “WTF just happened” essence of the show
True Blood - S603 - Holly
I don’t know who invented the end-of-episode cliffhanger that basically every show nowadays uses, but True Blood did it very, very well. There were a number of times where my friends and I would just sit there for a full five minutes, mouth agape at the screen, as the credits roll. Then we would simultaneously explode into expletives and in-depth discussions over the particular badassery slash insanity that just unfolded in front of our eyes for the past hour. Love or hate whatever direction the show went, admit that you couldn’t not talk about it. I’ve never read the books, but from what I gather, the show’s pretty different. But unlike Game of Thrones where I’m only a tad surprised when they deviate from the books, I have no point of reference when it comes to this show so every WTF moment is amplified tenfold. And there were a lot of them. Here’s to the plot twists that made us gasp, cry and laugh our heads off (figuratively, of course).

Now let’s enjoy the rest of the last season and hope they find a way to cure Eric. Happy Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

