Tasty Tuesday: Summer Date Spots

Last week, the boyfriend and I had two impromptu dates at two places we’ve never tried before. I highly recommend just going for a walk and ducking into the first joint that catches your eye. At the very least, you’ll both experience it together, for better or for worse. Here’s my review of both places:

Date Number One: A Casual Lunch At Fish Street Market & Open Kitchen

We were just walking around Yonge and Eglinton, the neighbourhood next to ours, when I spotted this little seafood shop that I’ve passed by a couple of times before and always wanted to try but never did. I was going to give it another pass when my boyfriend insisted on just going in. Just like the name implied, you can buy fresh seafood to cook at home or choose from their extensive menu and dine-in or take-out.
IMG_2765
The friendly lady at the counter also said we could customize any dish, choose the seafood and tell the chef how we’d like it prepared. Of course, I went with my ultimate summer indulgence: lobster roll.
IMG_2768
It came in two small butter rolls overflowing with lobster meat. It had lettuce, green onion and corn. The mayonnaise was light and not overpowering. For $15 plus tax however, I thought it should at least come with chips or fries. But I was happy since the lobster was fresh and the corn complimented its sweetness.

Keith ordered the Shrimp Po’ Boy which was massive.
IMG_2767
I mean this time they’re definitely trying to give you more bang for your buck, but there’s no way you can fit that in your mouth without most of it falling out, which was exactly what happened. That’s the only gripe to the dish. Otherwise, the slaw that was served with it, with the mango, red peppers and salad greens, was very good. And the shrimp was well-seasoned, breaded and perfectly cooked.

All in all, it was an enjoyable lunch date but definitely too pricey to be a regular thing.

Date Number Two: Discovering Beers at barVolo

Date night is usually dinner and a movie. But ever since discovering the world of craft beer, I wanted to take Keith out to a bar and sample some great ones. Last Friday, I checked what was on tap at barVolo, known for carrying a great selection of beer, and saw that they had one of the best brews I tasted from Crystal‘s beer school, Péché Mortel, by one of the best Canadian breweries, Dieu du Ciel. It’s an Imperial Stout that tastes like coffee. Keith being a caffeine-addict, I thought he would for sure love this one. Wrong. My plan backfired and he actually preferred Dieu du Ciel’s Rosée D’hibiscus, an herbed/spiced beer, but not by much.
IMG_2772
I loved both beers so I was happy. He still said he had a good time and that it was actually a productive night since now he knows stouts aren’t his thing. Now, it’s back to the drawing board for me in figuring out what beer he actually likes, which means more spontaneous dates in our future.

Happy Tuesday and why not go someplace new today?

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Tasty Tuesday: Summer Date Spots

  1. Pingback: Great Date SpotsSpots for Dates

Leave a Reply

