Tasty Tuesday: WVRST Review

Last week I met up with two of my friends, one of whom is moving to Calgary. We spent the whole afternoon together, eating, drinking and catching up. I know I’m very late to the party. But after months and months of wanting to, I finally got to try Wvrst in King West. It’s a sausage hall that has an amazing craft cider and beer selection. The cider is what brought me here, the sausage is what made me stay.
IMG_2857
Their menu is pretty straightforward. You choose the kind of sausage you want, from traditional to vegetarian to game. Then you either get it in a bun with toppings or sliced and served with a tomato curry sauce. Their duck fat fries are also pretty amazing. For my first visit, my friend and I shared a Calabrese and a Duck sausage.
IMG_2861
IMG_2862
The Calabrese had the right amount of kick and the Duck was rich and flavorful. I didn’t think the curry sauce would go well with both sausages but it worked. I will definitely be back to try the other types.

Another great thing about Wvrst was that you could get samplers. Seeing as we wanted to try as many of their ciders, we opted for the cider sampler but I’m pretty sure they have a beer one as well. It came in a cute little tray with numbers identifying them.
IMG_2859
There was a blood orange cider that tasted exactly like cream soda!

The food and drinks aren’t the only great thing about Wvrst. I also really liked the decor. From the long, communal tables to the pretty strung lights and cool bar, it’s definitely a great place to hang out with a group of friends, maybe for a birthday party.
IMG_2863
If you still haven’t tried it, then I highly recommend you do. Sure, it may seem a little overpriced for a sausage but you’re paying for the selection they have, the atmosphere and the location. I’m looking forward to my next visit already.

Happy Tuesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Food

3 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: WVRST Review

  1. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: The One That Got Away REVIEW | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  2. Pingback: Tasty Tuesday: Rodney’s Oyster House REVIEW | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

