It Happened This Week…

Happy Thursday! This week was actually pretty good for nerdy news. I thought it would be fairly slow but lucky for us, there were quite a few exciting things happening in various fandoms:

…in the TARDIS

Enjoy what’s probably the second to the last teaser before the Series 8 premiere this Saturday. I’m extremely excited!!! And if you’re so inclined, BBC has released every episode title, writer and director for the new season. I don’t think the titles give away any indication of what will happen but in case you’re worried about spoiling yourself, I guess don’t click on it. And also don’t read this rumor.

…in the ever-changing world of Ant-Man
BvadWpUCEAEqlC6
My expectations for this movie have been steadily decreasing from Edgar Wright’s departure to this “first look” photo. Sure, they’ve added more awesome people to the cast but I was really looking forward to Wright’s version.

…in S.H.I.E.L.D. Headquarters
Fotor082012495
Wonder Woman will be in ABC’s S.H.I.E.L.D.! Ok, not really, just an actress that’s played the iconic superhero in a failed TV Show. Adrianne Palicki will play Mockingbird in the upcoming season. Yet another reason why I should give the show a chance.

…in a galaxy far, far away

While we wait for more news on Star Wars Episode VII, we can look forward to the new animated series Star Wars: Rebels. They recently released this short focusing on Sabine and it is amazeballs. A one-hour movie will premiere on October 3rd and the season will start October 19th. I don’t know about you but I like what I’m seeing.

…in New York City (But DC NYC not Marvel NYC)
Fotor0821102428
My excitement for Constantine has waned a bit after the Lucy Griffiths left the show and the changes made to the character (he’s not bi anymore and he may not be a smoker). This piece of casting news however reignited a little hope in me. I’ll definitely be tuning in to watch Papa Midnite’s TV debut.

…in Fawcett City
Fotor0820124358
So Shazam is one of the solo movies DC is developing and while we don’t still have a release date, there have been murmurs of Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson being involved in the project. This week he’s confirmed that he will play a major role but no word on whether it’s Shazam (Captain Marvel!) or Black Adam.

…in Central City
Fotor0821101818
Another day, another villain for Barry Allen. Not that I’m complaining or anything. One of the main things I love about Arrow is that they brought in cool characters for almost every episode so there’s never a dull moment. Looks like The Flash is going in that direction with the casting of Greg Finley as Girder. Weird name, but apparently he can transform his skin into metal.

…in Starling City
Fotor0820124430
Not to be outdone, yet another addition to the CW’s Arrow constantly growing cast has been announced, this time a villain in the form of Komodo, a fellow highly-skilled archer, played by Matt Ward. Cannot wait for October 8th! Oh that’s also my boyfriend’s birthday but will probably be known in our household as “Arrow Season 3 Premiere Day!”.

Have an awesome rest of the day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

