Tasty Tuesday: Grand Electric REVIEW

Let me preface this review by saying that no, this isn’t the first time I’ve heard of the famous Grand Electric, deemed to be one of the best Mexican restaurants in Toronto. In fact, I have been wanting to try this place out for several years now but was deterred by the distance from my place and the long wait time for a table. Recently, the friend who recommended it in the first place insisted and we finally got our schedules all aligned one glorious Saturday. As a bonus the weather was perfect for tacos and cocktails too.

We went for lunch to avoid the busy night crowd but they still had a 20 minute wait for a table, which is apparently nothing compared to the usual hour. It passed fairly quickly since there are a lot of cool shops around the restaurant. I made a mental note to come back and explore more of Parkdale. Finally they texted us that we were ready to be seated. I immediately liked the restaurant when I walked in. The decor and vibe were right up my alley. I mean they had this on the wall:
IMG_3106
They also have a pretty decent craft beer/cider list and probably one of the best bourbon selections in the city but we were all feeling cocktails so we got margaritas. Turned out to be the right call since it was the best margarita I’ve ever had in recent memory. Perfectly balanced, straightforward, no frills, I can’t wait to order it again:
IMG_3097
While waiting for our tacos, because why would you order anything else, we snacked on chips and guacamole. The chips are the kind you’d expect from a good Mexican restaurant, fresh fried tortilla chips served with guacamole that’s the perfect consistency.
IMG_3095
And now without further ado, time for the main course, the reason we trekked all the way here. Their menu is written on a chalkboard and it changes from lunch to dinner but the taco selection pretty much stays the same. While my friend who’s been here several times got three spicy chicken tacos, I wanted to try as many kinds as I could so I went with (from the top left going clockwise) roast piggy, pork belly, baja fish and beef cheek.
IMG_3105
Ok, I’m already salivating and I haven’t even gotten to the descriptions yet. The roast piggy was rich and tasty with tender pork shoulder but when compared to the belly that had pineapple and an amazing sauce, the latter was the superior pork taco. That being said, they were both way better than any other taco I’ve had in Toronto. The fish taco had a sizeable piece of battered white fish, probably cod, that was complimented by the crema and shredded cabbage. It was great but the fish tacos at JOEY Eaton Centre were comparable. Now the beef cheek was something I’d never had before so it surprised me with how the combination of sweet braised beef and jalapeño complimented each other well. I’d order them all again happily but if I had to choose, I’d go with the pork belly and the beef cheek.

With the price being $3.60 per small taco, it can add up but it’s definitely worth it in my opinion. Plus I live far away that there’s no danger of this being a regular go-to place. And now I definitely know where to get my taco fix next time I’m hit by a craving…which after writing this post might be soon. Happy Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

