Tasty Tuesday: Bobbette & Belle REVIEW

IMG_3360
This past weekend I decided to indulge a little and discover the goodies that the new Bobbette & Belle location has to offer, seeing as it’s only a 5 minute walk from my apartment. I love their logo, their storefront, their whole look. I had already tried their cake and two of their macaron flavours at my friends’ wedding. I was excited to try their cupcakes and various other dessert offerings.
IMG_3348
Let’s start with the downside. To be completely honest, I did not like the cupcakes. I’m not going to sugar-coat it (pun intended), we didn’t even end up finishing the two flavours we tried. The red velvet was one of the worst I’ve ever had. It had a weirdly bitter aftertaste and the cake was too oily.
IMG_3351
I liked the spices of the pumpkin cake but this time it was too crumbly and falling apart.
IMG_3352
And the worst part was the icing, which surprised me, since I enjoyed the wedding cake’s icing. On their cupcakes, they tasted like whipped, airy butter, not much better than Cool Whip. Not a hint of cream cheese on either cupcake’s buttercream. Sorely disappointed but at least it confirmed my opinion on the best cupcakes in TO. I understand that they sell out of cupcakes but they’re just not for me, which was a shame since they look really pretty.

Luckily, it only got better from here. We also tried their apple turnovers which were perfectly flaky.
IMG_3355
The filling was also very good, with just the right amount of cinnamon. I also tried a sip of their hot apple cider which was a little too sweet for my liking but my friend enjoyed it.

Now we’re getting to the highlights: their butter tarts, brownies and the Sticky Toffee Pudding!
IMG_3362
The butter tart tasted like a traditional tarte à sucre, whether that was intentional or not. But I’m happy with the no nuts in the filling or topping. I’m also not familiar with what it’s supposed to taste like but I definitely enjoyed it.

Their brownies are iced with a layer of ganache and are just so yummy. They were dense, chocolatey and not overly sweet. But my absolute favourite dessert that I’ll probably come back for over and over this winter is their Sticky Toffee Pudding. It came with a small container of caramel that you pour on top. It was divine.
IMG_3366
In my expert opinion, skip the cupcakes and go straight for their other desserts. I can’t wait to try their caramel popcorn with fleur de sel and their blueberry scones with clotted cream. Happy Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

