American Thanksgiving 2014 Recipe Round-Up

This year’s Thanksgiving will play out a little differently than the last few times I’ve hosted. While cooking dinner for a dozen or so of my close friends is pretty intimidating, I had a secret weapon in the form of my friend Jonathan’s amazing mom, Gayle, who would make an amazing cranberry sauce and an assortment of baked goodies. Gayle’s food will not make an appearance this Thursday, since Jon is currently in Madrid. Selfish, I know. I must now rise to the occasion and attempt to follow in Gayle’s footsteps. I’m interested in trying these recipes in addition to my tried and true ones from last year, depending on how ambitious I’ll be feeling:

Cranberry Sauce
cranberry-sauce-600-dm
I’ve already made peace with the fact that my cranberry sauce will not be as good as Gayle’s, but this recipe seems easy enough.

Gravy

Gravy is the bane of my existence. It’s too intimidating to me to make the day of so I end up getting a mix. But I really want to make a proper gravy and I think Chef John from Food Wishes explains everything so well.

Mashed Potatoes
DX-0102_baked-mashed-potatoes-with-parmesan-cheese-and-bread-crumbs_s4x3.jpg.rend.snigalleryslide
Every year I’m always worried on how to keep mashed potatoes warm, but this recipe can be made ahead and then reheated once the turkey’s resting.

Pumpkin Pie
pumpkinpie8
If I had all the time in the world, I’d probably make this pumpkin pie instead of buying one.

Hope everyone has a great Tuesday and happy cooking if you’re celebrating on Thursday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

