Guest Post: Keith’s Holiday Movies

When Paola first asked me to do this guest post about my favorite holiday movies, I was a little bit nervous, 1) because I’m not a blogger and 2) because I’m pretty sure I can name at least a dozen great holiday movies. The problem was going to be narrowing it down to five. In order to make my selections easier, I’m going to try to stick to movies from the 80s and 90s. I think it’s best to resist the temptation of naming It’s A Wonderful Life as my favorite holiday movie, we can all try a little harder. So without further ado, my top 5 holiday films:

1. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
430849_orig

What’s more classic than Chevy Chase spouting expletives while trying to fit an enormous Christmas tree into an undersized living room? Nothing. The best thing about this movie is that the Griswold family is a lot like every family, just turned up to 11. They love their family, but they don’t want them around all the time.

2. Santa Claus: The Movie
santaclausbdcap3_original

Probably my favorite childhood Christmas movie. It outlines a wonderful origin story for Santa Claus and then drops us right smack into the consumerism of the 80s and our evil villain John Lithgow as he develops the greatest thing since Christmas…Christmas Two. Fun drinking game, every time you see Coca Cola product placement, take a drink of eggnog!

3. Gremlins
gremlins-christmas

Most people forget this is a Christmas movie, but it is. Right down to Phoebe Cates telling the most tragic story of Christmas gone wrong you will ever hear. And what child wasn’t upset that Mogwai weren’t real?

4. Home Alone
461862_290890010997379_136301250_o

Funny enough, I was just discussing Home Alone with my co-workers. The one thing we agreed upon that was great was how plausible for Kevin to be left behind. Multiple families, multiple children, two vans taking them to the airport, parents in first class and that darn neighbor kid. It was a perfect storm which led to a perfect movie

5. Nightmare Before Christmas
the_nightmare_before_christmas_4

I tend to view this film as more of a Halloween film but that’s probably because Halloween is my favorite holiday. This movie is wonderful to show people who may not enjoy Christmas as much as others. The animation is gorgeous, the score is beautiful and it has held the test of time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

