Fantasy Football Championship

Yes, I know that I said I wasn’t going to post during the holidays, but something BIG just happened. Not sure if or how often I’ve mentioned it on the blog before, but I play in a 10-man PPR fantasy football league. I’ve played for three years now. My first year, I finished 3rd, which is probably what got me addicted to it. That and The League, of course. Needless to say, I look forward to football and fantasy football season all year long. Last year was not good. I finished 5th or 6th. But this year, I had a feeling it could go my way.

For starters, I won the draft. Yahoo gives you a grade based on the players you drafted and I got the highest. It doesn’t really matter since you can get a bad grade and still dominate, but now I can say that maybe it did play a factor. I lost my first two games. Then something magical happened. The Cowboys started winning and kept on winning. Now, I don’t usually care for “America’s Team” (shut up, already!), but since I happened to have DeMarco Murray and Dez Bryant on my roster, this was very good news indeed. Plus, I also had Le’Veon Bell, who had an amazing season. The only thing that wasn’t clicking was my first-round pick, Eddie Lacy…until halfway through the season. Never thought I’d say this: Thank you, Packers. With the top 3 RBs on my roster, I knew I…could…go…all…the…way.
FotorCreated
The playoffs were fun at first. As the second seed, I got first round-bye, no big deal. Then I crushed my opponent during the semis. Luckily, last year’s champion, who also happens to be my co-worker, lost his semi-final. He was my biggest concern. So this was it, I was in the finals for the first time ever…and the defending champ was out. Easy peasy, right? WRONG. Enter my boyfriend, Keith. We are truly the Jenny and Kevin in our league. He wanted to help me out, bless him. And my mistake was letting him. Bench Philip Rivers and don’t start Mark Sanchez he said. Pick up Alex Smith, he said. Rivers and Sanchez put up close to 30 points. Smith? 18. But I wasn’t exactly blameless. I gave up on Zach Ertz and he has his best game of the season. Alas, even with these moves, the football gods were smiling down upon me and…I FINALLY WON!

IMG_1621

Happy Holidays from this league champ!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fandom

Leave a Reply

