REVIEW: “Agent Carter” Premiere

Yes I am aware that the third episode aired last night, however, last week I could not watch the 2-hour premiere of Agent Carter since I was staying at a hotel for my work conference. This Monday night, before the NCAA Championship, we finally had the chance to watch it in all its glory so here’s my late review. Two words: Hayley. Atwell.
PeggyCarterRedHat1
She is perfection. Before I get ahead of myself, Agent Carter is an eight-episode mini-series that is currently airing during the mid-season hiatus of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I have excitedly mentioned it a couple of times on this blog and it’s finally here!

Here’s what we know so far after essentially two episodes (not a lot which makes sense since it’s a spy show):

1. Peggy Carter is still recovering from the aftermath of World War II, mainly losing Steve and her sense of purpose in the world. She is now working for the “Phone Company”, which is code for Strategic Scientific Reserve.

2. Aside from war veteran Daniel Sousa, who has a crippled leg, the rest of Peggy’s co-workers, which include Chad Michael Murray, basically treat her as a glorified secretary.

3. Framed for selling his dangerous inventions to the highest bidder, Howard Stark comes to Peggy for her help to clear his name. He also brings together my new favorite team-up: Peggy and Jarvis. At first I thought Jarvis would be discount Alfred but he’s actually his own character. Alternating between concern for household chores and a slight penchant for danger, it’s a joy to watch him work with Carter.
9C1Z3gQ
4. Peggy loves disguises. So far, she’s dressed up as a glamorous blonde to infiltrate a nightclub and intercept the molecular nitramine that can and does level an entire oil refinery (one of Stark’s dangerous inventions). And then as a health and safety inspector in order to track down the truck filled with more nitramine. May I just say how much I love her outfits? I want her office wardrobe to be my office wardrobe (future blog post idea!). NEED that hat.

5. Initially, there were two bad guys after the nitramine both without larynxes and supposedly working for “Leviathan”, an organization. We find out later on that one of them is Leet Brannis, who has now turned against “Leviathan”. Carter tries to bring him in but is stopped by the other man who is still loyal to the organization. After a pretty epic fight on top of a milk truck, Carter, Jarvis and Brannis leap off but Brannis doesn’t survive.
agent-carter-pilot-hayley-atwell3
My feelings about this show are pretty much the complete opposite of when I watched the pilot for S.H.I.E.L.D. This was right up my alley with a clear storyline, great cast, awesome action scenes and a terrific lead. Hayley Atwell kicks some major ass and looks damn good doing it. We see her defending her waitress friend from a rude customer, telling Sousa she doesn’t need defending against sexism in the workplace and mourns the loss of her roommate. In short, she’s an actual person. This Buzzfeed list does a great job explaining all the awesome moments from the premiere. I’m very excited to watch the next episode.

Since I’m behind on my Agent Carter reviews, I’ll have my thoughts on episode 3 tomorrow instead of an “It Happened This Week” post.

2 Comments

Filed under Fandom

2 responses to “REVIEW: “Agent Carter” Premiere

  1. Pingback: Agent Carter & The Fashion It Inspires | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

  2. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: Agent Carter Finale RECAP | Fashion, Food & the Fortress of Solitude

Leave a Reply

