Tasty Tuesday: Winterlicious Five Doors North

Yes, I know, I know, I missed a post yesterday. However in my defence, I was depressed from the Super Bowl and recovering from a pretty fun weekend, that started on Friday night when I met up with two of my friends for the first night of Winterlicious. I have to admit Five Doors North, an Italian bistro, wasn’t even on my radar until my friend Nathalie suggested it. It was close enough to all of our apartments and the menu looked very interesting. It’s pretty easy to spot, just south of Eglinton station.
2341492106_af520b2122
I’m so glad we tried it because we had a great time. The decor is quirky and the service is friendly. But let’s get right down to the most important part: the food. Now forgive this photo-less post but it was too dimly lit to take decent shots. You’re just going to have to trust my descriptions.

For the appetizers, my two dining companions got the Baked Goat’s Cheese with Polenta, Sundried Tomato Paste and Pesto. They seemed to have enjoyed it a lot, but it’s mostly polenta. I opted for the Crispy Pork Belly with Butternut Squash Mash, Caramelized Apples and Sweet Onion Reduction. The apple flavour was lost on me, but the dish worked so well. From the perfectly cooked pork belly to the creamy mash, if it was socially acceptable to lick my plate, I would.

On to the mains: Nathalie got the Pasta of the Day, which was linguine with crispy prosciutto and pumpkin seed pesto. It was a huge portion so she couldn’t finish it but she said it was very good. Christine chose the Steak with Chimichurri, Tortilla Salad and Black Bean Sauce, which I almost ordered. Our server told us that the steak is cooked medium, but it came medium-rare which is how we all like it anyway. My main was the Grilled Black Tiger Shrimp, Roasted Corn Salad and Chipotle Aioli. The sweetness of the corn cut the kick from the chipotle well. The shrimp was grilled well and the smokiness enhanced the dressing.

Then for dessert, there were three options and there’s three of us, so it was an easy decision. The Flourless Chocolate Cake was very rich and decadent. The Banana Chocolate Bread Pudding came drenched in a cream sauce. And the Crème Brulee was satisfactory but not the best I’ve ever had.

All in all, we were happy with our choice. And I would definitely come back to try something off their regular menu.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

