Oscars 2015 Recipe Round-Up

It’s that time of year again: Oscar Season! Last year, I found it much easier to make puns with the nominated films, but this year is a little tougher. Instead, I’m using elements from the movies as inspiration for my menu.

1) Fancy Popcorn (Whiplash)
picSg29lR
Andrew and his dad bond by watching movies and eating popcorn. To be honest, even without the movie connection, it would just be weird to watch the Oscars without some popcorn. I like this recipe, but I think I’m going to let my friend Nat make her popcorn that she introduced us to last year.

2) Sandwich Bar (Birdman)
sandwich1
As soon as I saw this post on Cupcakes and Cashmere, I immediately thought of the scene where Michael Keaton eats cold cuts in his dressing room. Plus we have a panini press as an option.

3) Nuts (Wild)
quickfix-nuts21lf1
Poor Reese! I wanted to pay homage to Cheryl’s 1000 mile trek by featuring some nuts at my Oscar Party. There’s a great store near my apartment that has an amazing selection. This would be a great and simple way to dress them.

4) Pink Cupcakes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)
exps36503_CC2919384C09_20_6b
Now in a perfect world, I would attempt to re-create the Courtesan au Chocolat dessert from the movie, but I do not have the time nor the equipment, so anything pink will do, like these.

5) Oscar sugar cookies
3f6cd890dc3ed90f_Oscars-Statue-Sugar-Cookies.jpg.xxxlarge_2x
I have leftover cookie dough from my Valentine’s Day party so I will definitely be baking them for this Sunday. Hopefully I can find an Oscar statuette cookie cutter, but if not, I can just write the categories on them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

