Tasty Tuesday: Brunch at Lady Marmalade REVIEW

Two weekends ago, my best friends from Quebec came to visit. Since I value sleep and don’t usually make it out to brunch in Toronto, they took matters into their own hands and chose the restaurant we were going to that Saturday morning based on some Internet research: Lady Marmalade in Leslieville.
IMG_4923
We arrived a little before noon and the place was already packed with a line outside, which is typical for any good brunch place in Toronto. Luckily, the girls were used to waiting, because it’s the same deal in Montreal. The menu looked promising and the people inside looked happy with their dishes, which helped us deal with the cold winter morning.

Finally, it was our turn and I saw why it took so long, the space is small and the tables are all mismatched, which meant you had to wait for the perfect one to open up and accommodate your party. We got the one near the window, score! While waiting, Annick and I glimpsed other people having the hot chocolate with giant marshmallows. It was satisfying enough, if a little too sweet. We had to have them. She went with the Peanut Butter and Banana Bread Pudding, from the specials of the day. My other friend, Caro, and I ordered from their regular menu. She got the Huevos Rancheritos and I got the Pulled Pork Eggs Benny.
IMG_3778
It might not seem fair because I don’t have shots of their meals, but they can vouch for what I’m about to say: my dish won brunch. The Pulled Pork Eggs Benny is one of the best eggs benedict, maybe even one of the best brunch dishes, I have ever had. It’s packed full of flavour, the pork was tender, the eggs were perfectly cooked, the hollandaise worked amazingly with the citrus marinated onions. It was melt-in-your-mouth goodness.

The girls still seemed to enjoy their dishes, even after tasting mine and casting jealous looks all throughout brunch. I definitely recommend this place and would love to come back to get the same thing I ordered. FYI: It is cash only.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

